Board of Directors

Amanda Parriag has nearly 15 years of experience as a researcher and consultant in a wide range of social policy and public policy issue areas, particularly focused on the realm of violence against women as well as issues faced by Aboriginal peoples. Her work on women’s issues has included research on barriers faced by female offenders on reintegration into society, as well as the use of myths in sexual assault trials. Her work on Aboriginal issues has included research on violence faced by First Nations and Off-Reserve Aboriginal Women, Perceptions of Northerners and Perceptions of Off-Reserve Aboriginal People. Amanda received her Doctor of Psychology degree from Carleton University in 2001.

Andrea Benoit is a PhD candidate in the Faculty of Information and Media Studies at the University of Western Ontario. Her research interests include advertising, consumer culture, media literacy and activism and coverage around the commoditization of social causes. Andrea’s PhD dissertation focuses on HIV/AIDS awareness and activism within the consumer sphere. She did her MA in English at the University of Toronto, and recently finished her MA in the Graduate Program in Communication and Culture at York University, where she investigated consumer responses to media activism within the Dove Campaign for Real Beauty. Andrea’s professional experience includes a stint in Relationship Marketing at telecommunications firm British Telecom in the UK, and as an on-campus recruiter for D.E. Shaw & Co. in New York City, a Wall Street investment bank.

Canice Leung lives and works as a journalist in Toronto. She has written a national feminist column for Metro and was co-editor of McClung’s, a feminist magazine based out of Ryerson University. She can be found online at

Melody MacLean is a communications professional specializing in e-communications. Her work includes everything from web design and development to social media strategy and management. She uses her skills in strategic communications and project management to take her web projects from start to finish. Melody has a bachelor’s degree in communications.

Currently on leave from the board, leading Media Action’s Informed Opinions project, Shari Graydon draws on her diverse background – as a newspaper columnist, broadcaster, communications instructor, speechwriter and media critic – in her work supporting individuals and organizations in communicating effectively about education, health and social justice issues. Former longtime president of Media Watch and of the Women’s Future Fund, she has written two award-winning media literacy books for young people, Made You Look and In Your Face. She speaks regularly about the social impacts of media to both adults and children, and contributes columns and articles to a variety of publications. She has a BA in theatre from the University of British Columbia and an MA in communications from Simon Fraser University.

Ilana Shore has a broad range of financial experience gained while working in private industry and NPO organizations over the past 10 years. Her areas of focus include cash flow management and bookkeeping. Ilana also has extensive fundraising experience as co-founder of Refuse2Lose, supporting a local charity for kids with cancer.

Daphne Gilbert is an Associate Professor of Law at the University of Ottawa.  She specializes in women’s equality rights and reproductive freedom.  She was a member of the Legal Committee for LEAF for four years and was Counsel for LEAF before the Supreme Court of Canada in a major equality case.  She is the mother of three active children and an avid baker.

Leslie Regan Shade, Tracy Lacroix-Wilson, Andrea Whitehead, Nicole Cohen, Patrizia Gentile, Farheen Kahn, Hazel Klosevych, Katherine Toms, Mary Dila, Jane MacDonald, Toni Francis and Radha Nayar previously served on the Media Action board, contributing enormously to the organization’s re-invigoration. We thank them for their energy, passion, intelligence and commitment and continue to count them as valued supporters.